During this past Saturday’s WWE Clash At The Castle Event, Bayley, IYO SKY and Dakota Kai faced Alexa Bliss, Asuka and WWE RAW Women’s Champion Bianca Belair in a 6-Woman Tag Team Match and walked out of the match on the winning side.
Dave Meltzer and Bryan Alvarez noted on a recent edition of the Wrestling Observer Radio Program that it looks like a couple of Vince McMahon’s secret rule has been scrapped as during the 6-Woman Match a person who was not the legal competitor at the time in IYO SKY did a moonsault on Bianca Belair right in front of the referee and there were a few other spots similar to that, which wasn’t allowed before and that is the illegal competitor is not allowed to attack the legal competitor.
It was also noted that there was a rule called the “one save rule,” where if a competitor or a talent disrupts the official’s 3 count by pulling him out at two then that will result in a disqualification but that didn’t seem to be the case during the main event of WWE Clash At The Castle, when Solo Sikoa pulled the referee out of the ring as he was counting the shoulders of Reigns after he was hit with a Claymore.
This is what Dave Meltzer said:
“You know the secret rule we talked about. That one time they had the DQ. The secret rule must be gone because IYO SKY, who was obviously not the legal person, did a moonsault on Bianca Belair right in front of the ref. And there were other spots like that. The secret rule is the illegal person is not allowed to attack the legal person. So, on this show, they did that and in this match, they did that flagrantly so evidently that secret rule is gone.”
“Another one is the spot, which was really popular 20 years ago when they put it in almost big Rock match and Kurt Angle match and everything. Where you would have the pin and then somebody from the outside would pull the referee from the ring. And then they turned that into a DQ because it was a completely preposterous spot…One, two, and then the ref is pulled out of the ring and [it not being] a DQ is ridiculous but they did that in the main event so evidently that spot is no longer a DQ. I hate that spot, even though it does get over and the pop is really big and all that. I could see why you would do it but to me, it’s too flagrant when a referee is pulled out of the ring. It should be a DQ. [But] it’s pro wrestling and you change the rules and make them up as they go. When Triple H was younger, he was part of that crew that did that spot all the time…that spot was back in the main event.”
H/T to WrestlingNews.co for transcribing the quotes.