Connect with us

AEW News

AEW’s Plans For The Upcoming Continental Classic Tournament

All Elite Wrestling is set to hold their first-ever Continental Classic tournament starting Wednesday night on Dynamite, where the winner of each tournament match will get three points while the wrestler that wins via a draw will get one point and the overall winner of the tournament will be known as the Triple Crown Champion. AEW CEO Tony Khan took part in a post-Full Gear media scrum this past Saturday and said that the winner of the Continental Classic tournament will become one champion in the way of the Triple Crown Championship.

Dave Meltzer noted on a recent edition of the Wrestling Observer Radio Program that the plan for this tournament is essentially the ROH World Championship now becomes the Triple Crown Championship and the NJPW Strong Openweight Championship goes away. Meltzer also noted that the reason behind this is they plan on merging the titles into one title for it to be sanctioned and defended in three promotions as a joint promotion title.

Already announced for the upcoming tournament are Mark Briscoe, Andrade El Idolo, Bryan Danielson and ROH World Champion and NJPW Strong Openweight Champion Eddie Kingston, who will be defending both his titles in every match he wrestles.

Be sure to join our WWE / AEW Discord server and connect with other pro wrestling fans.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in AEW News

Pro Wrestling News Hub